Who remembers the old Pomona ?

lectrolove

They demolished it for road widening and I'm not convinced it was actually widened. They built the Vauxhall(?) dealership on the site.

The new Pomona is 50 yards higher up Eccy Road . The old one just needed a few bob spending on it: good consevatory which would have looked top notch with decent planting and ditto for that square sheltered courtyard at the back.

thttp://www.picturesheffield.com/cgi-bin/hpac.pl?_cgifunction=form&_layout=picturesheffield&keyval=sheff.id=8823

Originally posted by clogginchris

Definately moved it along the road. I remember the old Pomona well - it was favourite haunt when I was a student living on Ecclesall Road - especailly the conservatory out the back

It was the original pub with a conservatory. All pubs seem to have conservatories these days but that was a REAL one.

Didn't the Stag on Psalter Lane have a conservatory,?

The old Pomona was a very well liked pub, the best thing I can remember was the fact it sold merrydown cider which I just love. Popular with the students though which used to bring some student'bashers to the place and I can recollect two incidents which were very nasty, however this was avery long time ago.

Originally posted by WALLBUILDER

..... I can recollect two incidents which were very nasty, however this was avery long time ago.

If you're talking about the maniac with the knife*......that was the new Pomona.

* those protesting his innocence were an even bigger bunch of nutters than he was.