What martial art should I take up?

In an effort to not get beaten up I've decided to take up some form of martial art or boxing activity.

My requiremenets are that the location I can train needs to be around the city centre as I have no car and not much time to be catching the bus here, there and everywhere. They also need to be able to accept complete beginner's with the fitness level of an 80 year old asthmatic with heart difficulties and be relativly cheap.

I'm up for anything really: boxing, kickboxing tae kwon do etc. Just needs to fulfill the above requirements...

Cheers guys and girls!

can i presume from the user name that you're a student? Which university are you at.

Both universities have several martial arts clubs, why don't you look into them and give them a go, try a range of them out and you should find one which suits you.

any1 that does martial arts will just recommend whatever style they are doing..

i think ju-jitsu is best for self defence as it deals with more situations you would get in on the streets and how to re-act.

:D but im biased and i'm doing just what i said others would haha

as for clubs appart from the universities as cyclone mentioned. there is a place on london road thats pretty close to town centre.

failing that try this link

http://www.touchsheffield.com/dir/dirsrch.cfm/1253

Originally posted by MTheo

any1 that does martial arts will just recommend whatever style they are doing..

i think ju-jitsu is best for self defence as it deals with more situations you would get in on the streets and how to re-act.

:D but im biased and i'm doing just what i said others would haha

as for clubs appart from the universities as cyclone mentioned. there is a place on london road thats pretty close to town centre.

failing that try this link

http://www.touchsheffield.com/dir/dirsrch.cfm/1253

clearly not true as i avoided mentioning my club or even my style...