Story: 'The vagabond.'

MWhateley

I wont go mad and upload all my stories at once. I just thought I would upload a couple to give you an idea of my level. Here is one I wrote a few years ago. It was a short story to introduce a character. I have got plans for a book about this character called primevil soup, although that is only a working title. I hope you enjoy it.

The Vagabond.

Welcome to the group! I've only read Vagabond so far and it was a good yarn. I would say you have a very straightforward, no-nonsense way of writing that gets the story told without any fancy messing about. I could imagine older boys enjoying your narrative.

Here's a few points I noticed which you might like to think about. Or not, as the case may be :)! (Disclaimer: These are purely points that struck me as a reader - I am no professional!)

When Steve arrives as the boat, Tom leaves and the next para begins with something like "Tom grabbed his panniers..." It should be Steve who does the grabbing!

When Steve finds his friend on the rock it didn't quite ring true to me that he should be "momentarily startled" by something he "half expected"

For the most part, the story assumes the reader has some sea-faring knowledge, and terminology isn't explained. That works fine as the meaning is usually clear from the context. But sometimes things are explained (navigation station for instance) which the knowledgeable reader would probably know anyway. I think it might work better to be more consistent, i.e. choose between explaining and not explaining.

For me, there were one or two points where finding the next clue was a bit too much of a co-incidence (finding the dropped receipt, happening to turn up at just the right time to eavesdrop on the conversation between the two villains) Just an idea, but might it work better if the old man had overheard more than he should, perhaps including a conversation about the boat repairs? That would also give another reason why he had to be "dealt with".