Anyone Interested in Scuba Diving?

Hi

I've always fancied having a go at scuba diving and with a holiday to Cuba coming up later this year I'd like to be able to dive while we're there.

Are any forumers into scuba? If so I'd love to pick your brain on what's involved in the basic Open Water PADI training... I'm not a particularly strong swimmer so I'm wondering if I'm up to it!

I'm thinking about having a go initially at the Discover Scuba course to see how things go. It's only 15 quid and the training centre is just down the road (http://www.tigerdive.co.uk/dsd.html).

I was just wondering if there are any other total newbies like me here who'd be interested in coming along? Drop me a PM if you're interested!

Mate - definitely do the scuba thing. I would never stop doing it - love it me, and cuba will be a great location to see some top marine life.

As regards whether you're up to it - not everyone gets on with diving - its a strange sensation to breath underwater but one that you can become accustomed to even if you dont take to it straight away.

Obviously you need to be of a reasonable standard and be comfortable in the water by and large. There is a mandatory length that you have to be able to swim unassisted, although of the top of my head I cant remember what it is.

Nevertheless - I'd recommend giving it a go, its awesome.

• 2 months later...