Avery Scales history & models

• 8 months later...

I'm a ex-Avery service engineer - did my apprenticeship in West Wales from '63-69, and then transferred to an industrial branch in the midlands, so I've worked on most of the pre-electronic scales right from chemist's beam balances through to 40 ton weighbridges.

What sort of info are you looking for?

• 2 years later...
  • 4 months later...

Sir Ben. I have recently purchased a set of Avery scales, the type which the other gentleman says he wishes to purchase. I know nothing about them, except they are indeed the sort you used to get at the seaside on piers etc. and had to put a penny in the top to get them to work. They are green on the main body, black base with a white surround on the top dial. All they say on a little plate on the back is 'Made in England by Avery Birmingham 3809cfy s-620099'. I would be extremely grateful for information regarding these, especially how I can reconnect the penny mechanism to operate the scales, model number and anywhere I can get hold of technical or reference literature regarding these. I have looked on the net and can find nothing! The needle appears to drag on the face of the dial, causing them to stick... how do I get at it to bend it out a bit?!! If you don't live too far from Nottingham I would even contemplate paying you to come down and have a look at them for me if you were able and willing to. If not, your thoughts would be much appreciated, thanks. Gary

• 2 months later...