Rude customers

Im a student and work part time as a waitress. Last week me and my collegue were put in a very difficult situation whilst on a quiet monday night shift. A couple came into to dine with us, they sat at the bar before sitting down to a meal and were extremely...lets say tipsy...when entering the restaurant. We sat them down, they ordered one starter, two main course and two bottles of wine. When it came to paying for their bill (which the man demanded at the top of his voice) they were extremely drunk by this point. They were being very loud and aggressive with not only eachother but with other customers who were TRYING to dine in peace.

Becuase the gentleman was so drunk he couldnt read his bill properly and complained that it said two starters instead of one (which it did not) and said that because he had only had one glass of wine out of the second bottle he refused to pay for it atall. i very politaly explained that he would have to pay for ALL his bill, becuase there was nothing wrong with the food/drink he had ordered. After shouting at me and my collegue for 30minutes and casuing a ridiculous scene, we told him we would have to call the police if he was going to refuse to pay. He grabbed my collegues arm and told us to 'DELETED' then he and his girlfriend ran out of the door.

When the police came we explained the situation and they explained it was a civil disagreement and there is nothing they could do.

I find this ridiculous, if people can be arrested for stealing clothes from a shop, how is this differant? We had to use our tips to pay for thier food bill becuase they were too drunk to pay. What do people think of this? I realise that the police are very busy and this is not a major criminal offnece but why doesnt everyone just go around doing the same thing if the police arent bothered?

Edited by Classic Rock
LANGUAGE

We had to use our tips to pay for thier food bill becuase they were too drunk to pay. What do people think of this?