Anyone want to learn to fly a Microlight?

I've been learning to fly microlights for a few months now and have fallen in love with it. It's the closest you will ever get to flying like a bird and it's definitely the most exhilarating form of powered flight. The flying school is located near Ilkeston (near Derby) as it's the closest school that has an instructor that I really trust and admire.

The problem I now have is that I broke my leg in a rock climbing accident 3 weeks ago and I've got a frame on which prevents me from driving (but not flying!).

I'm looking for someone who's willing to give it a go and (ahem) give me a lift down at the same time. To sweeten the deal I'd be willing to pay all of the fuel costs there and back (about £9) and also put £10 towards your first 4 hours, so that would mean you could learn to fly for £64 per hour....definitely the cheapest way to learn powered flight!

I mainly want to do it on weekends and evenings as the summer nights are getting longer. We'd have to wait for each other to complete our flights, but this time could be used to learn the theory side and chat with some of the other pilots.

Who knows, if we both get our pilots licences we could co-own our own microlight and hangar it at an airfield somewhere near sheffield (I think I'm getting ahead of myself!)

Surely this will appeal to someone!

Tom

Update:

I can now drive (yes, with the doctors permission) so no longer need a lift, but I would still like it if anyone from sheffield want's to come along to share the driving. Although, I am withdrawing the offer of £10 towards your lessons!

• 2 weeks later...

Hello Flyers:):):):)

Just signed up to SF today.

This is my first post!!!! what look to find fello fliers!!!

I'm P1 (pilot) PPL (M) microlight flying an Air Creation flexwing from a nice little air strip "with an instructor"

It's 3 miles east of Retford Gamston in a village called Headon (40 mins from Woodhouse) and it's our anual fly in this weekend !!