Skills swaps

In this time when money's value is far from stable, and hard-earned cash becomes as pittance in the light of trying rising costs... why not start valuing our time differently and get things done in an olde style... Skill-swaps.

I'm genuinely interested in what folks think of this (I've been pondering it more and more... it works neatly alongside money, but it doesn't complicated itself with tax or greed or multi-nationals...), and also would like to put the first suggestion in...

Im a massage therapist and I do a very effective form of Chinese massage called Tuina, which is deep tissue... look up tuinauk.com for more info. I am also an English language tutor and work with kids, and I do reiki.

I'm looking for a hair-cut (a good-quality trim, nowt fancy but nowt crap either!!:))

So, any hairdressers suffering from frozen shoulders? RSI? Stress and tension? Let's swap!

Let's open the Sheffield swap-shop

I did make a similar suggestion last year but no-one was interested.

I wanted help with the garden, could do someones washing, ironing,cook a few dishes, do some sewing, cleaning.

Sorry don't cut hair, good luck.

Yes I think this subject has been covered before, its like old fashioned bartering, great idea, need someone to keep a book of people and skills. Dont mind doing this, but would need a bit of help starting a database.

Why would you need a book? It could be done on here the same way there is an exchange thread for homes.

In this time when money's value is far from stable, and hard-earned cash becomes as pittance in the light of trying rising costs... why not start valuing our time differently and get things done in an olde style... Skill-swaps.

I'm genuinely interested in what folks think of this (I've been pondering it more and more... it works neatly alongside money, but it doesn't complicated itself with tax or greed or multi-nationals...), and also would like to put the first suggestion in...