Proposed closure of Leppings Lane on match days - have your say

Hi all,

Council officers have come to me with a proposal to close Leppings Lane to cars on match days.

The proposal is for an experimental order closing Leppings Lane to traffic before, during and after Sheffield Wednesday home games.

The idea is to make it safer for fans on foot and to make it easier to police the matches.

I posted this on Facebook and on my blog yesterday and so far the reaction has not been favourable - but I want to know what you guys on here think.

Personally as a local resident I would find it a real pain - but maybe people who walk this way when they come to matches would think different?

Let me know what you think!

UPDATE: I have just looked at the plans and noticed that this also involves closing Catch Bar Lane between Middlewood Road and Parkside Road. This seems very unwise to me!

UPDATE 2: Anyone wishing to object to these proposals can do so by writing to:

Les Sturch, Director of Development Services, 2-10 Carbrook Hall Road, Sheffield S9 2DB

or e-mailing les.sturch@sheffield.gov.uk.

Edited by Umeeksk

I always thought closing the road just as the match finished worked, meaning the large number of supporters who come out that way were safe. It must be closed for 15-30 minutes (depending on the size of the crowd) and it makes sense.

However, closing it before and during does seem a little excessive.

I can understand your concern and appreciate you finding it a real pain but I'm sure you are aware of the benefit to the local economy that the football supporters bring in.

Have the council offered a viable alternative for through traffic to Leppings Lane?

When United are at home the Police quite often close Bramall Lane to traffic before and after the match. As long as people make themselves aware of match times then they can plan their journeys around this.

Have the council offered a viable alternative for through traffic to Leppings Lane?