House DJ looking for a break

Smithster

Are there any club promoters, or does anybody using this board know any that are looking for new DJ talent?

I'm fairly new to the Sheffield area and I am looking for a break into club DJing. I play a mixture of tech / electro/ progressive and breaks. I've got a very recent demo CD available, and I could do most nights.

Any suggestions gratefully received.

im a student at sheffield and im looking to start a night in september and we're looking for people to play/help run the night.i play breaks myself but the night will probably have to run along more tech house/electro/breaks sort of lines to draw a crowd.drop me a pm if you're interested

Got to be honest with ya mate - due to the distinct lack of clubs in Sheffield it is very hard indeed (especially in your line of music ie not playing rnb or bl**dy funky house) and there is a massive queue of people waiting for their chance - I play at/run a couple of late bar kinda nights - not really your style more happier hip hop/breaks, latin and the lighter side of drum and bass - I have played at a few club nights such urban gorilla etc but such chances are not regular as UG sets are in such demand and letting as much local talent as poss have go keeps the line up fresh - so you could try them (look on the website) bar that though due to most of the Sheffield population having a very narrow view on whats good music you'll probably struggle to get a proper regular club set no matter how good you are - why not look into trying to set something up yourself at least that way you get to determine the music policy!!! Sheffield needs an injection of new club nights - good luck fella - PM me if you need any help with contacts.