Looking for martial arts classes for a complete beginner.

Hey folks, first time posting on here but I am currently looking for a good martial arts discipline/class to do in Sheffield.

I am quite unfit though and worried that some classes may be beyond my fitness level. I am trying to get myself into shape and discipline both my mind and body whilst at the same time picking up new skills and hopefully meeting some good people to train with in the future.

I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to classes for someone who is overweight and rather unfit to start on and build from?

I'd suggest looking around as this question is asked a lot!

Sheffield has so much to offer martial arts wise, best advise is to read up on the internet about the styles (wikipedia etc) find one you like the sound of then go to 2 or 3 different classes and see which one you prefer.

The standard response on this forum is for everybody who runs a class to tell you theirs is the best, but like I say, find something you like.

Regarding fitness levels, two schools of thought on this I'd say.

If you don't think you'll be able to participate fully then you might prerfer to build your fitness beforehand? Otherwise just go along and see how it goes!

By the way I don't speak from great experience ;) I'm a martial arts newbie really who isn't amazingly fit, so don't assume you've been told this by some sort of expert!

I'd suggest looking around as this question is asked a lot!

Sheffield has so much to offer martial arts wise, best advise is to read up on the internet about the styles (wikipedia etc) find one you like the sound of then go to 2 or 3 different classes and see which one you prefer.

The standard response on this forum is for everybody who runs a class to tell you theirs is the best, but like I say, find something you like.

Regarding fitness levels, two schools of thought on this I'd say.