Clinical Hypnosis

Hi, I am considering booking a session at Sheffield Clinical Hypnosis, has anyone out there tried hypnosis? Not the cluck like a chicken type, the stop smoking/ gain confidence/ lose weight type? Is it any good or should I save my pennies?:help:

Hi, not tried hypnosis but i'm a clinical psychologist (ie work in nhs with psychological/behavioural problems) and i was really impressed with a hypnotherapy cd i used to prepare for childbirth. I would expect that if hypnotherapy is done right it should work. However you could just ask them what data they gather on whether their sessions work. Any practise worth going to will evaluate what they are doing and should be able to give you a summary. Also check the qualifications e.g are they registered or approved by a national organisation for hypnotherapy. Hope that helps and good luck, cx

Hi, I am considering booking a session at Sheffield Clinical Hypnosis, has anyone out there tried hypnosis? Not the cluck like a chicken type, the stop smoking/ gain confidence/ lose weight type? Is it any good or should I save my pennies?:help:

It depends what you are going for. Ive been hypnotised and found it very relaxing.

First point:

All hypnosis is self-hypnosis. The person assisting you is an hypnotic inductor - you do the actual work (though he or she will still want to be paid - by somebody.;)

Second point:

You may wish to consider going to somebody who is both qualified and experienced (I haven't a clue what the qualifications are in the UK, but medically qualified - particularly if the practitioner is a psychiatrist or a psychologist seems like a good idea.) There may be incidents in your past which should not be revisited. - Ever.

Does it work? - If you want it to. If you believe hypnotism will be of no use to you, then you're right. Conversely, however, if you approach it with an open mind (and better still, if you believe it's going to work) it probably will.