Etiquette at the butchers

I bought a lovely piece of gammon at our local butcher's shop.

I like no fat on it so I asked him to trim all of it off.

He put the piece of meat (including the fat) on the scales and gave me the price (which I thought was a little expensive, but hey!)

He then trimmed the fat off and sold it to me and it was half the size I expected. (with the fat included)

I paid for it, t was nice, but should I have paid for the meat only, without the weight of the fat?

Is he selling me a product and I have asked for some of it to be removed which is my choice?

Secondly, if I went to a supermarket (perhaps the deli) I'm sure they would not charge me for the fat they chopped off!

I think with The Weights and Measures Act 1985, you only pay for what you take home. If you are buying a piece of gammon it isn't your responsibility to pay for the fat taken off. I'm no expert though, maybe someone will know more than me.

General offences

28 Short weight, etc(1)

Subject to sections 33 to 37 below, any person who, in selling or purporting to sell any goods by weight or other measurement or by number, delivers or causes to be delivered to the buyer—

(a)a lesser quantity than that purported to be sold, or

(b)a lesser quantity than corresponds with the price charged,

shall be guilty of an offence.

I bought a lovely piece of gammon at our local butcher's shop.

I like no fat on it so I asked him to trim all of it off.

He put the piece of meat (including the fat) on the scales and gave me the price (which I thought was a little expensive, but hey!)

He then trimmed the fat off and sold it to me and it was half the size I expected. (with the fat included)

I paid for it, t was nice, but should I have paid for the meat only, without the weight of the fat?

Is he selling me a product and I have asked for some of it to be removed which is my choice?