Any Photos Or Pics Of Bendibuses? Esp The 1st White MAN Ones

Dinkychink

Any Photos Or Pics Of Bendibuses? Esp The 1st White MAN Ones .

I Remember The 1st Ones Borrowed From Germany?And They Were On Trial But They Werent Up To The Job?

The Newer Bendibuses Had Rear Wheel Steering To Help With The Sharp Bends Around The City Clipper Route Which I Remember Used To Be Free To Use.

I Remember In The Transport Executive Shop Under The Hole In The Road They Had A Model Of One Of These Bendibuses And Now For The Life Of Me I Car nt Find One.

Those Were The Days When Ur Could jump On The City Clipper If Ur Were Bored N Nowt T Do And Ride Around Town For Free! And If Ur Went Anywhere It Was 2p On Another bus.

I Remember Travelling Between Mansfield And Sheffield For £1-00 And That Included 3! Buses:o

Can,t help with pictures, but as an ex bus inspector I can tell you that the first M.A.N buses we had were very good, they did have rear wheel stearing, this was a conventional front axle linked to the centre turntable, provided that the rear wheels of the centre section cleared an obstruction the rear trailer wheels would clear by exactly the same distance.

They had a powerful 12ltr engine, and performed very well.

The buses which were made by British Leyland, these were basicly two Leyland National lash ups, were rubbish, they used to sag in the middle, and the center section often grounded when going over poor road.

The final buses used before the finish of bendies in Sheffield were fine and a great success, buses very similar to these can still be seen operating in York.

I can testify to the fact though that they were a pig to reverse, this was an acquired art, unlika an artic lorry, because of the rear wheel stearing arangement, they had to be started off on the complete opposite lock, I made some right ****-ups when first trying to reverse.

Thanks M8...Most Gratefull For Your Info..