Abbey Lane Coaches

SUTman

• 2 weeks later...
Has anyone any memories of Abbey Lane Motor Services (Beauchief Coaches) of Abbey Lane around 1930-1953?

Hi, there SUTMAN,my uncle,FRED SAVAGE worked at beauchief coaches around 1953,i believe.He was on the WALESBY run i think? a few years later when i was driving long distance for RILEYS at intake, i was down south at some REED paper mill,when a guy came over to me showed me his I.D. and said i am a ministry of transport inspector,i would like to see your log book and check your vehicle over.lorry was abrand new T.K.BEDFORD,so no problems there.We got talking about SHEFFIELD,and he said he used to be a mechanic for BEAUCHIEF COACHES. never did look at my log book.(thank goodness) uncle fred said he was a great mechanic. does the name HUTCHINSON ring a bell? sorry its another kodak moment. bye for now.eightlegger

Thanks eightlegger and Runningman for the info. The only people I know of who worked at Beauchief Coaches were George Betts (engineer), George Baines (driver), Tom Hill "Woodlice" (bodyman), Bert Marshall (driver), George Withers (driver). The company itself was taken over by SUT in 1953. Regarding Eightlegger talking of RILEY's of Intake, did you know that Ralph Riley went to drive for SUT after their firm sadly ceased trading? I have a couple of photos of their lorries but not of a Bedford TK

Beauchief Coaches. Such happy days Beachief King, Beachief queen, Beachief Monarch, Beachief Princess, Yes I remember them. Yellow and Green coachwork I passed the end of Abbey lane,only yesterday . I looked down into the yard where they were garaged,and wondered how they got them down They used to take us on our camping holiday to Theddlethorpe(Chapel st Lenards) from Manor Lane School But I am talking about 1936 or Seven Oyes, I remember Beachief Coaches As I said, Happy days