Has anyone studied with the OU?

I'm due to start an OU course on the 29th of January. The course is the Introduction to social sciences. I got the course materials delivered yesterday and have just been looking at the TMA section where the assignment questions are, and must say the course looks really difficult. I am now panicking and was wondering if anyone who has also studied with the OU could give me some advice. Did anyone else feel like this when seeing their course materials

What's the course code? Is that a foundation course?

I studied with them - went mainly down the science route. Eight years later I got a degree.

It can be a bit daunting but stick in. The foundation courses are good and you get lots of support off the tutors. If there are evening/Saturday classes (forgot the proper name) available then try to attend - they are worth it.

What is your ambition? Are you just wanting to do a one off course, a diploma or a degree? If going for a degree - are you looking for a basic pass (like me) or are you going for honours?

G

EDIT

Found the course http://www3.open.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/course/dd101.htm

I spent slightly more time per week on my foundation course than on a second level 60 point course. About 10 hours a week - I think that they say to expect about 11 - 14 hours a week.

Does the course have a summer school?

Thankyou the course code is DD101, and I'm doing this to hopefully progress to get my honours in Criminology and Social Policy. I left sixth form in 2007 so have had a few years away from studying and now I've read the first assignment question and am thinking 'I'm not smart enough for this'

I wouldn't worry about not being able to do the work. I only had 'O' levels and started OU 11 years after leaving school - that said, I only did the bare minimum to pass each year/module.

To get honours you have to do level two and level three courses and it is the level of pass in these that gives you the type of honours.