Where can I submit a short story?

selphie

Ok.

So i've written a short fiction story for an English assignment and my english tutor today said that it was so good that I should submit it to some magazines and make some money out of it. Now she has got a magazine in mind and is going to bring the details into college next week but I wondered if there was anywhere else I could submit it to?

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks

PS Be gentle with me, it's my first time on here :):)

Ok.

So i've written a short fiction story for an English assignment and my english tutor today said that it was so good that I should submit it to some magazines and make some money out of it. Now she has got a magazine in mind and is going to bring the details into college next week but I wondered if there was anywhere else I could submit it to?

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks

PS Be gentle with me, it's my first time on here :):)

you could submit it to any magazine you know to take the kind of story you have. we don't know what it's about, it's style etc so can't make any suggestions. but good on you for making work your tutor says should be in print.

Like Kaimani says, you need to think about the style and content of your story and consider who would be your target audience - it might help to take a trip to WHSmith and have a really good browse through any and every magazine that prints short fiction pieces; find one you think your piece would fit in and give them a shout.

Congrats and good luck.

Most of the markets for short fiction don't appear on the shelves at WHS. There's a huge network of literary magazines which you can usually only get on subscription.