Is There Much Footfall Near Your House ?

No !! Not FootBall-----FOOTFALL----it 's the new ' in ' word.

Just been reading in the Star [ via internet ] about Pollards closing on Charles Street and in a fairly short article, the word ' footfall ' appeared about 4 times. Living abroad, I might have already missed the word 's debut in Sheffield ? Anyone else come across it much ?

Not long ago, we had ' awesome ' sweeping the nation-----used to describe anything ---from a new type of biscuit to an earthquake. Is ' awesome ' still on the go ? I suppose

' innit ' will never die out.

Nothing wrong of course with new words but the way people use them in a sort of

' copycat ' fashion, always looks a bit ' daft ' to me-----rather like the featherbrains who MUST wear the latest fashion ----whether it 's suitable for the occasion or not !

I used to work in the museum industry, 'footfall' is a very common term to describe the number of people passing or visiting a certain area, it is quite old, it puzzled me at first but when you think about it it is a very good term to use. The Pollards term refers to the amount of people passing the shop on a daily basis.

If you work in retail, footfall is just a word you use. I expect there are words you use in other industries that I don't know of.

I used to work in the museum industry, 'footfall' is a very common term to describe the number of people passing or visiting a certain area, it is quite old, it puzzled me at first but when you think about it it is a very good term to use. The Pollards term refers to the amount of people passing the shop on a daily basis.

I've worked in a number of jobs which have 'in-words' (previously known as 'jargon'.)

There's nothing wrong with 'In words' but if they really are 'In' words why send them 'out' when there are perfectly good words/phrases already out there?

What's wrong with 'pedestrian traffic'?