History of housing in Heeley

Alex_1

Hi everyone!

I'm studying Housing at Sheffield Hallam and at the minute I'm writing an essay on the history of housing in the Heeley area.

Does anyone have any interesting facts or stories about Heeley? particularly relating to employment and housing and from the 40's onwards, although I'm covering from 1840 onwards so info from earlier is fine but I've found loads in the History books from between the late 19th century up to the end of the war.

:help: Your help would be appreciated :)

hey up mate we lived in heeley in the 50s i am 58 so cant remember,only what my bros and sisters tell me . we lived on gleadless road in a slum next to a house called the ivy house i think it was 2 up 2 down and there was 8 of us plus mam and dad and resident mice and cockroaches the kitchen floor was grave stones dont know much else our house was oppisite heeley church

During the Thursday night blitz my brother and I were at the pictures watching a Mickey Rooney film at that picture house near the railway arches when the sirens sounded. We ignored them and came out and in the foyer were women and kids crying. We ignored them and opened the outside door and heard a screaming whistling sound.

We both ran like cheetahs and dived under a truck where unknown to me my brother had knocked himself out on a girder. A great big copper picked me up, I was 11 years old and due to starvation weighed nothing, and deposited me on bench in an air raid shelter under the arches. I tried to tell the copper about my brother but he looked dazed and didn't appear to comprehend so I was about to go out when a lad about 20 went out and brought my brother in. He had an enormous bump on his head.