32 year old male wishes to learn a martial Art

I have read with interest many of the topics on martial arts and dont feel I have the "answer"....so experts out there please help

I am a overweight 32 old married average Joe, both my wife and eldest son (13) both do TKD in Rotherham, very impressed with the teaching (what I have seen) and both are thoroughly enjoying it.

I can not go to their class, as I look after our other chimps and truefully dont want embarrasing by my wife ! (blue belt)Additionally I wish to keep away from their "interest" and do my own !!

So looking for a lesson on Mondays if possible (ideally), where overweight, unfit, balding absolute beginner will be made welcome.

Any helpful info will be welcomed

Regards

Pete:thumbsup:

Would do TKD, just not with the family !, no specific "art", however I aint feeling competative, I am well aware I am not a young starter, however not to old either !!!!

Certainly no weapons, something to give me an interest (other than loud rock and beer), not too competative...but certainly not relaxing.

Ideally a martial art, where I will gain confidence, fitness and ability, learning how to punch/kick rather than throwing (grappling = judo ??) and probably something practical rather than arty.

Sorry if this makes no logical sense, it is hard to explain what I want...

And a big thanks for the prompt reply:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Pete

Kick boxing / muay thai or boxing are all very effective but may be to sports oriented for you. JKD should give you a good all round art - it's pretty intensive and will get you fit, gives you a good grounding in punching/kicking and also some grappling and weapons techniques (the user jay_kd runs classes at The Source near Meadow Hell) Other than that Mantis Kung Fu or Wing Chun (talk to Davemantis about these) sound like they would be good choices.

TKD is at Hillsborough Leisure centre on Mondays at 7.30 ( I think - you might wanna check).