Dear Forum - What would you do??

Dear Forum

I have been working for the same company for the last five years - went into my line of work (youth training) as it was something I was very interested in, and it's proved to be a great job! Really enjoyed it - and I have been very good in the role, beating all KPI's even when colleagues couldn't meet theirs... The place I work is a big company, but I have never been successful in getting a management role there (I was a manager in my last career) and I have now been offered a managers role with a smaller competitor... Trouble is, the wage is the same as I get already, and they are not in a position to offer more... I went for a interview for a managers role within a larger competitor and they were offering £10K+ more than my current wage, but I wasn't successful as been five years since I was last a manager... What would you do? Take a post where I'd been manager for 15 other people, on the same cash as I recieve today for simply sorting myself out? Or, stay where I am???

Had the money been even a few K more, it'd make it a no brainer - Just have a feeling I might start to feel a bit put upon... But that said, the pull of more recent experience is a huge plus! I was a great manager before, and although in a different area, there are enough similarities to make the roles comparable... In my last managers job I had one of the top performing teams in the country, so know that I am good :)

Come on then, what's your advice???

In the current climate I'd go for the job which has the greatest job security. Ask yourself which of the two companies is least likely to be making job cuts in the future and go with them.

I get you, but in my line of work all work is secure as it's a boom business, and the line I came out of is booming too, so could always double back to that... That isn't what is the issue for me - just wondering if others would take a post with more responsibilities for same cash, if other aspects were better???