Advice from past Uni Students about whether to do/not do a Work Placement?

Hi, I'm studying engineering at Uni and was wondering if any past students could advise me on whether to do or not do a work placement?

So far, I assume the following:

Good points if I did a placement:

- experience

Bad points if I did a placement:

- takes one year longer to complete uni

- placement could have nothing to do with my degree and employer can get me to do whatever else they need doing, hence could be a waste of time

What do you guys think?

I did five months work placement when I did my four year taught masters. I thought it was really useful. It gives you a good idea of how your chosen industry works and gives you experience in your chosen field. It will also give you an advantage when you finish your degree and start looking for jobs. I had a couple of friends do a full year placement and both went on to get similar jobs to the ones they studied.

Another option is to get in with one of the bigger companies and do consecutive summer placements with them. That way you get the experience and still get to finish in three years. You're also likely to get a job out of it at the end.

I did a placement at university and it was great. Not only did my studies then make more sense, I left university with some experience to my name, which made me more employable.

Also you should get paid, which means you shouldn't incur any further debt, so the extra year 'at uni' is moot. And maybe there will actually be jobs a year later, because there aren't many now!

If you can do a placement I would say that is a great opportunity. The one thing most graduates lack is experience! However be warned, I knew someone who had a paid placement all set up, credit crunch hits and staff had to be let go. The first to go was the work placement :( The university were very unsypathetic and told him he had 3 weeks to find another placement. in the current climate not an easy deal.