A man with questions

Raptornet

With such an inquiring title, I hope someone will take the bait and reply to my post.

First a little background on myself.

I've never written a book before, but I have written stories. First in my youth and then later, I used to run what is called a PBEM role playing game. Sort of a sci-fic, Dungeons and Dragons in space, where the game is played via email, writing the actions of your character in novel or script format and sending it out for other players/writers to respond. By replying with the actions of his or her character. So you always have a developing story which is guided by the people writing.

As something of a writer, I found this to be a wonderful way to excercise the old grey matter.

However over time, I've had this itch to turn my writing skills towards something more structured, like a book. But I just dont know how to begin, I have the concept of the story in my head, the characters ect. I read recently your either a planner or a writer. I've always been one to just write and see where it takes me.

So I'd really like to know how others of you go about your writing..Do you just sit down and type or do you plan out Act 1, Act 2 ect?

I'd be very grateful for any insight people can share

Thanks

James

...However over time, I've had this itch to turn my writing skills towards something more structured, like a book. ...

A few quick and random thoughts:

Bold mine. There's the key, for me. Structure demands a plan. Those who can 'just write and see where it takes them', while producing something of novel length and remaining coherent and remembering who did what to whom and why, have my admiration.

I like detailed character biographies. If you know your characters' personality, background, etc., then you know their motivations and likely reactions, and as such you can't stray too far into 'He did what? Why?!' territory.