Where do i stand??

Where do I stand, I dropped my car off at a garage this morning to be check over as its got a knocking on the front corner, so he calls me and tells me whats up. I go up at dinner to collect my car and they say that will be £15 please.

Now when I dropped my car off there was no mention of it costing me to have a look. Am I in the wrong for challenging it or would you expect to pay even if not told?

Please discuss thanks.

I go up at dinner to collect my car and they say that will be £15 please.

Now when I dropped my car off there was no mention of it costing me to have a look. Am I in the wrong for challenging it or would you expect to pay even if not told?

This is interesting, if you're interested enough to read it.

Contractual Obligations v. The Meaning of Justice

An excerpt from Harvard Professor Michael J. Sandel’s Justice: What’s the Right Thing to Do?

Benefit or Consent? Sam’s Mobile Auto Repair

…Many years ago, when I was a graduate student, I drove across the country with some friends. We stopped at a rest stop in Hammond, Indiana, and went into a convenience store. When we returned to our car, it wouldn’t start. None of us knew much about car repair. As we wondered what to do, a van pulled up beside us. On the side was a sign that said, “Sam’s Mobile Repair Van.” Out of the van came a man, presumably Sam.

He approached us and asked if he could help. “Here’s how I work,” he explained. “I charge fifty dollars an hour. If I fix your car in five minutes, you will owe me fifty dollars. If I work on your car for an hour and can’t fix it, you will still owe me fifty dollars.”