Has anyone on here ever had a slipped/bulging disc

hi , ive had back trouble for a while now aching and going into spazams every now and then for the last 20 years or so but this 2011 to now has got to have been the worst ever , ive had phisio treatment over the last year and pressing on my spine doesnt hurt its just things like putting my shoes on bending forward and coughing and things , at the moment i cant do any of these things , my phisio has said if its going this regular shes going to send a letter to my doctors for a reccomended mri scan as she suspects a herniated disc or buldgeing disc , not wanting to scare myself has anyone had the operation she says they dont take the disc out they just trim the buldging part out.

im a service engineer in my job but i cant even do this due to struggling all the time i feel guilty all the time i cant help my fellow workers and if i have time off at our place i get bad marks against me 3 bad marks and im down the road,so i just keep struggling in there , not good.

i`ve had 2 operations on my spine for disc damage [apparently i was the first in britain to have a decompression done-previously they used to remove the whole disc & let the bones fuse but i had 3 displaced & it would have left me with very little back movement hence the decompression] the first was done in 1974 i was in hospital 3 months

the second was done in 2010 i was told i would be in 2-4 days but went in @ 8 am & was back home about 4 pm was off work about eight weeks after surgery but all was well when i returned to work iam a welder & my job was fairly physical with some heavy lifting involved but i have no problem whith physical activities whatsoever so after both operations i can only say that they were both successfull i get the odd ache now & again if i push things abit to much [probably age related rather than my spine 1 am 60] but other than being more carefull when i lift anything heavy i have no problem at all