Public sector jobs should be tax free!

A woman on QT just shouted, "I work in the public sector and pay 32% tax, close the 1% tax loophole!"

Clap clap clap! (Fair do's with clapping about closing the loophole - we need one system for all - a just system)

But why the hell are we taxing a woman we pay, that is just needless bureaucracy!

We could lay off loads of staff at HMRC who deal with public sector wages and tax. Or divert them to targetting the large tax avoiders.

Either way. It's pointless to tax the people we pay with money derived from taxation!

Taxing public sector workers is like paying council tax benefit to those to poor to pay.

They should be tax exempt in the first place.

£6 an hour wages, but £1 an hour to work.

Shouldn't it just be fiver an hour wages?

A woman on QT just shouted, "I work in the public sector and pay 32% tax, close the 1% tax loophole!"

Clap clap clap! (Fair do's with clapping about closing the loophole - we need one system for all - a just system)

But why the hell are we taxing a woman we pay, that is just needless bureaucracy!

We could lay off loads of staff at HMRC who deal with public sector wages and tax. Or divert them to targetting the large tax avoiders.

Either way. It's pointless to tax the people we pay with money derived from taxation!

Taxing public sector workers is like paying council tax benefit to those to poor to pay.

They should be tax exempt in the first place.

£6 an hour wages, but £1 an hour to work.

Shouldn't it just be fiver an hour wages?

Do you know something, I joined this topic just because I like question time over all the political tripe on the parliament channel, but having read your post again in full I think that you have a rather valid point and one that should be forefront of this discussion rather than my previous post.

If they are talking about cut backs then it should start with the work load of the public sector and any idea that could do that is worth, at least, talking about.