Tax help needed

thank you for reading and any idea will be greatful.

I have a affair with HMRC

I was told that I have been registed as self employee since 2005 by HMRC staff. but in fact , during that period I was a full time student in the unverisity.

I have received lots tax return forms in Jan ,2012. I did not know any thing about self assessment on that time . I did not know what to fill them, I dont want to make any problem with tax collector, so I went to local HMRC branch at young street to ask the staffs for help to fill the forms. I received the SA Determination £642.6 plus tax interest to 05-2011 £ 163.16 after 2-3months.

I could not understand it bec i have never been registed as self -employee and filling all the forms with my best knowlages and on time.

so , I did not pay one penny to tax collectors while I am trying to sort out the mistake with HMRC, BUT HMRC have PASSED MY PERSONAL INFORMATION TO THE debet collectors.

I have spent lots time and money on the phone call to deal this problem. and it is driving me and my whole families mad. my wife argues with me nearly everyday.

I wound if it effects my credit score ? what can i do now? could i ask for compansciation? how could i been registered as self employee ?

Thank you for everyone

James

I've had a very similar problem, hrmc registered me as self employed(self assesment) but I never was.

I get a self assesment every year even though I am on paye and have been for the last 8 years.

Every year I go to the tax office and explain this to them and every year they promise that I am all sorted and will not be asked to fill out a self assessment again...

It doesn't happen, they keep billing me for not filling it out then they remove the charge.

You need to go into the tax office with a lot of patience and explain to them that they have made a mistake it should all be sorted(but in my case its like a yearly ritual)by them pretty much straight away.

Thank you ,Syne.