Moped/Scooters - Novice needs info

Hello all

Looking for some information on something i know very little about!

I am hoping to get a more local job and not have to commute, and perhaps give the car a bit of a rest by buying a moped/scooter to get me to and from work.

I have a full UK driving license for over 4years, but do have a claim or two to my insurance.

What would i need to do to have a moped/scooter?

Does my driving license cover riding one of these (B, B1, f,k,p)? Do i have to take any other courses?

Total novice here that desperately needs some information!

Your full driving licence enables you to ride a moped without L.plates and without any tests,if you want a 125 bike you will have to take your c.b.t and display L.plates. Bike laws seem to change quite often so i wouldnt swear to it.

No, i have not ever been on benefits.

Apparently i would have to take a CBT though? As i got my license after feb'01.

But i will need to do that every two years as it expires...

I heard about the scheme from one of my neighbours who said that they were great and helped him get a job in mansfield (oh dear) by the scheme. Having to take your CBT is no bad thing is it ?

I heard about the scheme from one of my neighbours who said that they were great and helped him get a job in mansfield (oh dear) by the scheme. Having to take your CBT is no bad thing is it ?

Just more money and that it has an expiry date.

The CBT only lasts so long, then you either take a full motorcycle license test (which i don't really want/need) or you have to pay out and do the CBT again.

Would the moped then go on your insurance as driving car? As in, you would say you had been driving since however long you have as a car driver? Is that right?

Surely then you'd have to put any claims down also? Even though it was car and not moped?

Thanks.

I was just looking to get one of those lil mopeds that can only go 30mph or something!

There are one or two other considerations: