Things are the way they are .. and there isn't anything we can do?

Not that I'm an expert on these matters, but recently I got on my soapbox about Bob Diamond's payoff ... £30m, £20m or "only" £2m?

My friend refused to have an opinion. He said - "Things are the way they are, and there's nothing we can do about them".

Although I was a bit shocked at his apathy, I have to say the guy is happy and I wonder whether I stress myself about matters that are way beyond my influence.

Should I be bothered about the report that "City bonuses soar to record £19bn" (Not a Daily Mail reader, just stumbled across this, honestly!)

Are we being taken to the cleaners? Us, our children, and our grandchildren?

Maybe I should just be like my mate - just get along with things and don't worry about the government of the day, their friends ... and the powers that have us over a barrel.

Are you resigned to being powerless to change anything, and are you happier for it?

Anyway. I'm really not going to bother about this now ... there's something special about to happen at the Olympics.

Jesica Ennis? Awesome, awesome, awesome: totally moving.

Mo Farrah and Greg Rutherford? Absolutely amazing.

The rowers? I'm overwhelmed. ... we've won the olympics! :smile:

Why am I reminded though, of this quote from Gladiator? [if you haven't already seen it, please seek it out!]

"I think he knows what Rome is. Rome is the mob. Conjure magic for them and they'll be distracted. Take away their freedom and still they'll roar. The beating heart of Rome is not the marble of the senate, it's the sand of the coliseum. He'll bring them death - and they will love him for it."

I know, I know, there's no modern politician competent enough to distract us from the ills of society by giving us "games", but nevertheless, we are distracted ...

... but before I continue ... it does feel great to be British tonight ... what an unforgettable evening ...

but .. all is not good, is it?