Ever become endangered on the mountains or moors?

hannah_f

Have you ever been endangered on the moors or mountains? I'm a final year university student at Sheffield Hallam and I'm doing some research into mountain rescue and the problems people run in to on mountains, hills and moors. If you could tell me if you've ever run into problems that would be great! If you have what problems were they? How did you deal with them? How did you feel? and did you have to call out a mountain rescue team?

Thanx for all your help :)

Me and my ex had a bit of an incedent in the lake district a few years ago.

We had done a few walks that were rather easy so I decided to do something a bit more challenging, I bought a guide book for the most chalenging walks in the lakes. I picked 'hellsvelen' (dont think thats hows its spelt) it pointed out that the last section called striding edge was more of a climbe. Anyway long story short the weather came in, we had no proper equipment just trainers and light coats. eventually in the wind and rain made it to the top but it was that foggy we could not see anything, we then realised we did not know where we came up from so basically we were lost!! ended up seeing a path and taking it just to get off the mountain as there was not much daylight left. unfortunatly the path took us straight over the mountain, the car was on the oposite side! We managed to get a lift around from a guy who was doing the walk the next day.

He told us that people had fallen off the mountain in this weather in the past and been killed.

The situation we were in only sunk in having a pint later on.

If I ever do anything like that again I'm gonna get proper gear, check the weather and make sure I know where I'm going.