Best and worst pubs?,

jemson

Nice article in the Star last night about two chaps who had visited every pub in Sheffield, some 500 odd of them, over a number of years.

I'm relatively new to Sheffield, well 6 years, and I reckon I've been to a fair few. Not sure about worst though. Anyone? And best?

Or anyone know how many they've been to?!?

Alot of the truly terrible pubs in Sheffield in Sheffield have closed though you only have to visit some of the more "socially challenged" areas (Manor, Arbourthorne, Low Edges etc) if you fancy a pint of John Smiths smooth and a fight. An interesting location is The Brown Bear in town. Nice cheap Sam Smiths beer and the pub itself was tastefully tarted up a while back. Unfortunately every time I go in there someone tries to sell me some frozen meat or a pair of trainers.

If I could only pick one pub as my favourite it would have to be The Sheaf View but then I do live locally. No Fosters. No bandits. Sensible prices. Great beer choice. Pipers crisps. What more could you want.

Which pubs on the Manor do you mean?

Which would you recommend?

Think they named Farfield at Neepsend as worst (closed?)

Dot - concur about Shakespeare. Great beer, character and top drawer bar staff. The music stuff there is a winner too IMO.

Nice article in the Star last night about two chaps who had visited every pub in Sheffield, some 500 odd of them, over a number of years.

I'm relatively new to Sheffield, well 6 years, and I reckon I've been to a fair few. Not sure about worst though. Anyone? And best?

Or anyone know how many they've been to?!?

After coming here to go to University in 1988 I once got a Thomsons local directory and went down the pub listings crossing out all the pubs I'd been to. In just over a year I'd already clocked up over a hundred.