0.5% interest. ?

My son was recently awarded compensation due to an accident, this is being held in the courts funds office where interest is paid at 0.5%. Now i'm no financial expert but surely the sum (several thousand pounds) could be placed elsewhere and gain a much better return over the 4 years till it's released to him ? but there's no option for this. Now as his guardian it's my duty to do what's best on his behalf but it seems i can't, is this reasonable and fair. ?

My son was recently awarded compensation due to an accident, this is being held in the courts funds office where interest is paid at 0.5%. Now i'm no financial expert but surely the sum (several thousand pounds) could be placed elsewhere and gain a much better return over the 4 years till it's released to him ? but there's no option for this. Now as his guardian it's my duty to do what's best on his behalf but it seems i can't, is this reasonable and fair. ?

The courts will have relent the money at a nice rate like the solicitors do when they receive deposits for buying a house.It seems like custom and practice and a challenge may prove costly.At present you could earn about 4 pc per annum meaning an annual loss of 3.5 pc -on £8000 this would be £280 pa or £1120 over the interim.

The courts will have relent the money at a nice rate like the solicitors do when they receive deposits for buying a house.It seems like custom and practice and a challenge may prove costly.At present you could earn about 4 pc per annum meaning an annual loss of 3.5 pc -on £8000 this would be £280 pa or £1120 over the interim.

Yes that's what i'm thinking, and as the money is technically his surely any return available on it should go to him not their coffers. I think it's really unfair they've tied our hands like this.

It's a disgrace, my son has a few grand from a road accident claim about 3yrs ago and that is also in the court funds office.