2p used to go a long way in the 70s

rupert

In the 60s a pound had 20 shillings and a shilling had 12d - pennies (not pence). I still have lots of them, and a ten shilling note somewhere, and use them sometimes in my teaching (I'm an English teacher).

I can remember that Bazooka Joe (bubble gum) were a happeny each, and individual large sized Wine Gums were 4 a penny. Old money went so far, even then. When it changed to metric many of those cheaper items doubled or quadrupled in price instantly. Bloody EU! Even as a kid I realised the power of economics. The new money itself looked soooo cheap - still does. And can you remember how big the pound notes used to be? They shrank in size to almost nothing before becomming a coin.

Still, 2p used to go a long way in the 70s.

I can remember buying 5 packets of crisps (2p each) for 10p in High Storrs School tuckshop at break time (1973). Mars Bars cost 2 and a 1/2p, I think. I ate such everyday, so did everyone else, and no one ever got fat (can't imagine what all these fatties are eating today).

It was also 2p on the bus to anywhere for years thoughout the 70s.

I don't live in Sheffield (or even the UK) now but something tells me it costs a bit more.

I suggest you talk to a maths teacher who could probably explain inflation to you. :D

I don't see how you can blame anyone else other than shopkeepers for the price rises following metrication especially as the EU didn't exist then.:loopy:

Incidentally, I assume, judging by your spelling and grammar, it's English Lit you teach not English Language.;)

Originally posted by max

Incidentally, I assume, judging by your spelling and grammar, it's English Lit you teach not English Language.;)

That's a bit harsh, isn't it? Poor old Rupert's only trying to start a thread reminiscing about his childhood and look what he gets for his trouble.

I can only see two obvious spelling mistakes in his post, plus a couple of dodgy commas. That's way better than average for this forum.