Where's best for financial advice

I've been left some money and I'm unsure what to do with it, if I save it il end up spending it and having nothing to see for it.

I do have debts which this would make a big dint in but I didn't want to again see nothing for it.

I'd like to own my own property and this could get a deposit.

Any advice please

Having been in quite a bit of debt before, I'd personally sort those out. You free up monthly income when they're paid off and I can tell you now that having had debt the feeling of now being able to say you're debt free is great.

I might be wrong but I would guess that the interest on your debts is higher than you'd get on savings too.

I'm no expert tho.

Posted from Sheffieldforum.co.uk App for Android

I've been left some money and I'm unsure what to do with it, if I save it il end up spending it and having nothing to see for it.

I do have debts which this would make a big dint in but I didn't want to again see nothing for it.

I'd like to own my own property and this could get a deposit.

Any advice please

In what ballpark amount are your current debts and what interest rate are you paying on them at the moment?

I'm currently on a DMP so I'm lucky not to pay any interest, I've thought about paying off the smallest ones ( I've got 3 small ones) and then my monthly payment will just be off the big amount

---------- Post added 16-04-2013 at 20:10 ----------

I've got about £11000 of debt left to pay

I'm currently on a DMP so I'm lucky not to pay any interest' date=' I've thought about paying off the smallest ones ( I've got 3 small ones) and then my monthly payment will just be off the big amount[/quote']

if you're on a dmp and they've frozen the interest, that means the loans have gone into default yes?. So unless your deposit is huge, I can't see you getting a mortgage and even then.

What type of debt is it, credit card or personal loan debt over 15k?

ahh ok £11k