Gordon Peter Lidster of Shiregreen

Hello Everybody, Im really new to this so still learning how to use it.

I am wanting to talk to people who can remember my late Grandfather , Gordon Peter Lidster.

He had his own coal business until he decided to have a convenience store which was located on Bellhouse road, shiregreen.

His favourite pub was the Horseshoe, until it was knocked down and one of his very best friends was Terry fisher who unfortunately has also passed away.

Im looking for people because as some of you may or may not know, My granddad was actually adopted.

Unfortunatly due to current legislation the right for me to access my late grand-fathers original birth cert has died with him.

But he did talk about it all the time, which has encouraged me to find out who they really were.

Any rumours, anything you ever heard my grand father talk about, would really help, especially if I can pin point the exact place he came from.

Will really look forward to hereing your storys, Best Wishes, Miss Lidster

Thats really wierd.I was in Hartley House club last Friday talking about some of my old relatives to this old fella and he said they used to work for your grandad filling coal sacks for him at 50p a sack.I didn't know he had a coal business.I did frequent his shop on Bellhouse Rd.though.Didn't he get attacked in his shop not long before he closed it?

No he had already passed away by then, it was my uncle who got hurt. My great granddad Albert who adopted Gordon had the coal business and my granddad worked for him, learned the ropes so to say and took it over when Albert retired. Then he bought the shop. The only way I can get any further with my research is to contact people or find people who knew him and as irrelivent as the information may seem, it might really help. So if you know anybody, here anything, it would really help me out