Working as a bar person

Jamie

I've been thinking about getting part-time work as a bar person.

I have no provious experience ... but I'm pretty intelligent (can count) ... I am presentable (have all my own teeth) and friendly !!

Anmy suggestions on finding bar work ... anything I should know !?

I would prefer for just do friday and / or saturday nights.

Take your pick from the city cente bars Jamie - choose where YOU would like to work. If you genuinely want to work Fridays and Saturdays they will be so pleased to see you. Most staff find excuses not to turn up cos they would rather go out. You should be able to pretty much pick and choose.

I would go so far as to say you will have a job in an hour if you doorstep some bar managers / supervisors mid afternoon. Don't bother sending CV's or calling, just turn up looking clean with a bunch of CV'c in hand.

I'm going to say, Jamie, you won't possibly have a problem with weekend work.

If I were you, I would go into town one afternoon - when the places are quiet - and make enquiries in some of the pubs.

I don't think you will have to visit many establishments before work is offered to you.

I started my bar-work at The Big Tree on Chesterfield Road, Woodseats and although I had a fairly fun year there while working in college, the landlord was a complete nob and was always dropping us in the smelly soft stuff. Git!

My second bar job was in Brannigans in Blackpool and it was definately the best out of all of the bars I worked in. I was there from Jan 96 to Dec 97 and had really fun time with the staff and locals, although the tourists were a little much at times. I got asked out a fair bit though which made the job much more worthwhile. ;) It was much easier to talk to the ladies from that position because you already have a reason to talk to them as they are there to buy drinks off you. :thumbsup: