Nether Edge hospital.

My mother was taken to Nether Edge hospital after having a minor stroke and died there a few days later Jan. 1980, From information I received recently it appears the patients were put on a bed with a rubber sheet and left without any care. Many patients were suffering from mental problems and were left to die in their own extrement according to my source

Can anybody confirm or shed any light on this report.

My grandma was in there in the early 80's following a stroke and stayed on Lyndhurst 2 for nearly 10 months.

The service and care she received whilst in there was second to none and if I recall a couple of the nurse that cared for her actually came to the funeral.

I worked as a volunteer on the brain injury rehab ward at Nether Edge , which ironically was the ward on which my mother later died, after I left. My grandpa was later also on lyndhurst after he had a stroke.

The wards were long-stay, as you may imagine, after brain injury/insult/trauma. As you can appreciate, the recovery can be a long road.

I never saw anything like you suggest, neither when I was there (part of my duties as pre nursing, were making patients' beds and feeding them, if they were unable to feed themselves ) nor when my mother was being cared for, and when my grandpa was in there.

The care they received was always 100% professional, always exemplary.

As a relative, I would turn up at random times (awkward shift patterns) and, if there was any pretence at caring, there's no way that the staff could have kept that up as a veneer 'just in case'...

Believe me, had I seen anything lik the sort of 'care' described, as ex nursing staff there would have been hell raised by me. There would have been no way they would have got away with that.