Cycling question in the city

Does sheffield have adequate cycling routes and safe places to keep bike would you say? Compared to other cities

could you visit main attractions and do shopping without having bike half inched?

I'm new to city living and wondered how it works

Stop at red lights, dont weave like a drunkard, keep as left as you can so as not to disrupt other faster moving road users, dont cycle on the paths unless they are designated cycle routes, dont make unpredictable manoeuvres and expect drivers to use the Force in order to tell which direction youre intending to go. Buy a very good cycle lock

Job done :)

Here's some better advice:

Never hug the kerb. That's rule one of road positioning on a bicycle. You need to be further out into the road, sometimes right in the middle of the traffic stream. Less assertive cyclists worry that being further out may put them in the way of the traffic. It won't: you are the traffic. Being in the traffic stream helps you to get treated like traffic.

It then explains as to why this advice is worth following:

It can feel safer to ride in or near the gutter. It isn't safer. It vastly increases the chances of drivers buzzing past you with inches to spare. You'll have to contend with drains, cambered surfaces, and debris like broken glass that has been 'swept' to the edge of the road by the action of car tyres. And you're less likely to be seen at all by drivers.

The commonest type of car-cyclist collision is the 'Sorry, mate, I didn't see you' variety. You must register in a driver's field of vision. You'll do that best by cycling where they are looking. Drivers look where their vehicle will be in the next few seconds, which is to say: ahead of them. They pay much less attention to people and objects in their peripheral vision.

Initially, you may feel exposed exposed riding further out from the kerb. But it's very rare for cyclists to get rear-ended by drivers.