I need your advice - study opportunity

Hi all,

I need some advice from you, please read my story below. If you don't like it please ignore, thanks!!

I used to be a postgraduate student at the University of Sheffield. I worked for a professor and carried out some research in order to write up my thesis. During that time I was doing some experiments but my attendance was not satisfied my boss. It did get me successfully graduated and rewarded me with MSc degree.

I am now self-employed but I dreamed going back to the lab. My ex-professor is now recruiting PhD students and that's my chance. BUT I am not that confident to apply for the course, I am even scared of writing him an email.

I just feel so sad.

1. If you dont try then you are 100% guaranteed to miss out.

2. You say your attendance wasnt good enough? Did you have a reason and how will you explain it to your boss, so he can view you as a good candidate? How are you going to sell yourself so he sees you as an asset?

3. If you are unsure then talk to someone, maybe one of the other contacts you have in the department to sound them out on your chances. He is ofc the best person, but if you feel uncomfy even to email him, then it doesnt bode well for you being able to work with him.

4. Theres not a lot of point in feeling sad. You are where you are, do soemthing about it or find something else.

Its not what he can do for you, but what you can do for him. Work it out.

• 1 month later...

:) :) :) :)

---------- Post added 21-01-2016 at 12:28 ----------

1. If you dont try then you are 100% guaranteed to miss out.

2. You say your attendance wasnt good enough? Did you have a reason and how will you explain it to your boss, so he can view you as a good candidate? How are you going to sell yourself so he sees you as an asset?