Former WWII Evacuees - I would like to hear from you

Hi all.

I'm a student at Reading University (originally from Sheffield) and I am going into my final year. Of course, with this comes the dreaded dissertation piece.

Anyway, for part of my BA History degree last year, I did a module on Children in War and part of the module included the experiences of Evacuees involved in the Second World War. The course was led by Dr. Martin Parsons who is the founder of the Research Centre for Evacuees and War Child Studies (ResCEW) and who is also closely linked with the Evacuees Reunion Association (ERA). I enjoyed (if this is the right word) studying this highly undocumented part of British History which is often confined to a mere page or two in History textbooks. As a result, I have chosen to write about this for my dissertation.

The reason I have joined these boards is hopefully to find any former WWII evacuees, anyone who lived in billeted areas or anyone who has any form of recollection of the time and their experiences with evacuation in wartime England and paticularly, Sheffield/South Yorkshire.

My dissertation would benefit significantly from any first hand accounts of the time, ideally through interviews with the people mentioned above. It would be a huge help if anyone would be prepared to give me a bit of their time where I could ask questions (which I would send you before I came and you could choose which you would prefer not to answer) in relation to the experiences they have. However, I am aware that many people have mixed memories of the experience of evacuation and may not prefer to take part in any personal one on one recorded interviews and in this case I would still love to hear from you whether it be by email or any other way you would be prepared to talk to me.