If You Had To Retake Your Driving Test Tomorrow.

How confident are you you'd pass? I'm a careful driver so I like to think I'd do fine on most of it, but my parallel parking skills aren't what they were and I heard you only get one shot at that on your test? Whereas I used to be able to nail it in one on a narrow London street with some chuff honking me, it now takes me between one and three goes. And that's if I passed the theory test, which is debatable.

I’m pretty sure that the theory test would prove more of a problem without a fair bit of revision than driving but when all is said and done,just like my original test you just need reasonable competence and a fair set of circumstances for an hour or so of the test.

The three speed awareness courses that I have attended might come in handy😁

Edited by RJRB

5 minutes ago, Delbow said:

How confident are you you'd pass? I'm a careful driver so I like to think I'd do fine on most of it, but my parallel parking skills aren't what they were and I heard you only get one shot at that on your test? Whereas I used to be able to nail it in one on a narrow London street with some chuff honking me, it now takes me between one and three goes. And that's if I passed the theory test, which is debatable.

I don’t think I would pass. It’s these flippin E scooters, and bycicles that make it harder now.

I think that I’m experienced enough to pass after 60 plus years on the road.

I’d have to swat up on the theory part though and remember not to cross my hands on the steering wheel or hold the car on the clutch on a hill and, of course, stick to the speed limit. They don’t call me ‘hell’s granddad’ for nothing!

I’d insist on taking it in a car with a manual gearbox, preferably an original Mini; none of these massive automatic  ‘Chelsea Tractors’ for me!

Oh, and I’d have to get used to doing hand signals again.

Apart from that it would be a breeze or does that come from the hole in the floor of my 1959 Moggie Minor!😀

echo.