Capitalism -v- Communism & all the other social...isms

Originally posted by kookie

yes but privatisation gives you choice.

Look at the phone companies. Ok the railways need sorting out. What about the utilities. And it helps get rid of the unions, which although I am not an expert, I think they contributed a major part in screwing up our country.

Choice gives the consumer more power.

Things just need to be improved, the foundations are in place.

I think:(

Privatisation = big profits for fat cat tory loving executives with nil or little regard to provide a decent service to their customer as their only concern is increasing their profit margin!!!

Yea, yea, heard it all before. That tired old line about 'fat cats' What you fail to mention is that these 'fat cats' support the economy and your way of life. They are paid good salaries, most of which are performance related, because of that.

Without them you simply would not have what you have today. Nationalisation doesn't work to any great degree. Talented people need big wages or they simply won't do the job here. Whether you like it or not you need those talented people.

Here's a nice example of the old fashioned nationalised, Labour controlled, union led way of doing things. AMICUS Union Leader Derek Simpson goes to Glastonbury Festival in a helicopter. Apparently he also lives in a three quarters of a million pound house that he rents from the Union @ £1 per week . All that pretence about members interests, pah! He and his like are no different, except they are dishonest about it.

Originally posted by Tony

Yea, yea, heard it all before. That tired old line about 'fat cats' What you fail to mention is that these 'fat cats' support the economy and your way of life. They are paid good salaries, most of which are performance related, because of that.