Help please - Mopeds / Scooters!

Hi, I'm a student looking at getting either a moped or a scooter. Can someone tell me the differences? and how fast a 50CC one goes compared to a 125CC one. Also any other advice on anything to do with them. What training / licesnses do you have to have? any what ages do you have to be? thanks a lot, Emma

A 50cc scooter can only do about 30mph. I'd recommend a 125cc, though presumably a 50 would be cheaper to insure. If you don't already have it, you'll need to get provisional motorcycle entitlement added to your driving licence (get a form from the post office), and in all cases you'll have to take compulsory basic training before you go on the road. I've seen various scooter shops around that'll sell you a package of vehicle, helmet, CBT and insurance - it's probably worth asking them. As I learnt to ride in Oxford, I can't give any personal recommendations for schools in the Sheffield area, but I'm sure there's somebody on here who can.

IanR

hiya, if you live in a rural area ie, stannington, wadsley, worral, bradfield etc, you can apply on a scheme to rent a scooter for £10 a month. (new cheme though with brand new bikes, which may be a bit more, it hasn't started yet, cos im waiting for a new bike.)

its what i do, to get to college n my work! (very handy with no busses aswell)

ring Jack Dunn on 0114 2859909 he's in charge of the scheme.

Just explain your situation why you think your a good candidate for a scooter, they 50cc bikes.

everything is free, CBT, helmet, gloves, jacket.

Good Luck :)

Hiya does this just apply to students do you know because i'm thinking of getting a scooter bur clearly they are quite expensive.....now renting one for a month or so but be a great idea to see if i would like one long term...

So does anyone know if the offer above is just for students because i am NOT one.

x x x

Originally posted by kitkat