Names of Sheffield roads/parishes many years ago

aurora5772

Hi folks. I am trying to do a kind of genealogy exercise, only finding out the history of my mum's house. We think it is quite old - her actual street and house number is on the 1901, 1891 and 1881 censuses. I have a subscription to ancestry.co.uk, so looking up census data per se isn't a problem. The difficulty I have is 1871 and backwards. I have access to the censuses, but can't find my mum's address. Now, her current house number is over 100, so I'm thinking, as I go back in time, some of those houses won't exist, and her house if it exists earlier, won't have the same house number. Her parish name, district and even county also varies - it is Brincliffe now, but has been Ecclesall Bierlow, and this has variously been in Yorkshire and Derbyshire. Does anyone know a quick way of tracing a particular property backwards through the censuses in this way? Btw, I'm happy to try lookups for folks who don't have subscriptions, as long as I'm not inundated with requests!!!

the local History Library, in Sheffield's central library has shedloads of old maps, many going back at least a couple of hundred years, in certain areas of sheffield. it might be worth a try there. you can use these maps to determine roughly when properties were demolished or built. the staff are very helpful, even with vague enquiries, they can give you ideas that can set you off looking in a particular direction to get the info you need.

Hi.

You need a trip to the West Riding Archives in Wakefield.

The West Riding Registry of Deeds was established by Act of Parliament, and began registration in September 1704. The Registry was one of only five in England.