Tigger Tor 2007 (10 Mile Fell Race)

pawa

Is anyone doing the Tigger Tor this weekend or has done it before? I was out running around The Fox House last night and there was around 1 foot of snow aound Higger Tor!

This is my first attempt at a fell race, will it be obvious which way the route goes or shall I just follow the runners ahead of me?

pawa

Hi Pawa,

I'm running it this year. My pictures from last year's race are at http://www.onthefells.co.uk

This is my first attempt at a fell race, will it be obvious which way the route goes or shall I just follow the runners ahead of me?

It's a tough race I think and there's certainly an element of navigation. On the other hand, there will be around 300 hundred runners so as long as you're not likely to get hopelessly tailed off (like me), you should usually be ok.

I did a full reccy of the route from 1 Fell Gate to 9 Houndkirk Hill on Sunday, pm me with you email and I'll send you a copy (I would post it here but I suspect it is bad etiquette to do that for a nav race).

For me, the hardest navigation is across Burbage Moor - go wrong and you'll find it impossible to get over - but as it is early in the race I imagine there will be a nicely packed "snake" to follow!

Good luck - the snow is going to make it very tough indeed. Forget Higger, that bit will be easy, it is Houndkirk Hill you've to fear. Horrible.

Rich Knowles.

Thanks for replying Rich,

I've now entered and have bought myself a bumbag to carry the essentials.

I'm not worried about getting lost, my navigation is pretty good being a scout leader. I was concerned about cutting corners against the rules, but from what I've read we have complete choice of route even if that is off the track and through the heather.

Also I'm unsure what is meant by "full windproof body cover must be carried". I'll be wearing full length Ron Hill Tracksters and a long sleeve running top. Will we be required to carry something more substantial such as waterproofs?

Thanks