Story: 'The letter.'

sauerkraut

After a few technical difficulties (thanks Joe, for the support!) I'm trying again to submit my April contribution. I'll have a lot of reading to do afterwards, because I haven't looked at anyone else's letters yet as I didn't want to be influenced and pinch someone else's ideas :D

Here goes:

Link deleted by author

Thank you Pattricia! I knew I could rely on you to say something nice! Yes, this is based on experience - many years ago now, but I can still vividly remember standing all bewildered with that piece of paper in my hands. if the examiners had seen how dense I was they might have changed their minds!

And I'm sure you've asked before how I landed on this forum - perhaps you never saw the reply? Can't remember where or when it was, now. Anyway I was a student in Sheffield in the 80's, and a few years ago our family was pondering moving back. Nothing came of it but I've been stuck on the forum ever since. :hihi:

Thank you Pattricia! I knew I could rely on you to say something nice! Yes, this is based on experience - many years ago now, but I can still vividly remember standing all bewildered with that piece of paper in my hands. if the examiners had seen how dense I was they might have changed their minds!

And I'm sure you've asked before how I landed on this forum - perhaps you never saw the reply? Can't remember where or when it was, now. Anyway I was a student in Sheffield in the 80's, and a few years ago our family was pondering moving back. Nothing came of it but I've been stuck on the forum ever since. :hihi:

Oh, yes sorry, you did tell me, but I had forgotten. We are very glad to have you on here.

That time of year is approaching again, sauerkraut. :)

I felt the same in 1958. I remember the days before, the day itself, and the pure joy of telling my mum too. That feeling revisited me in 1961 and 1963.

You've sent me down Memory Lane again now! :)

That time of year is approaching again, sauerkraut. :)